Looking for advice for beads

Discussion in 'General Paracord Discussion' started by MightyPen2017, Jul 21, 2017.

1. MightyPen2017

MightyPen2017 New Member

Hi all:

I'm a newbie to the forums, so apologies in advance if this has been discussed and I just didn't find it in a search. Otherwise, I'm hoping you guys can help me.

I'm having a heck of a time locating simple paracord beads that can fit two strands of 550 paracord. I've been seeking advice all over about where to get beads for paracord, and I'm trying to keep it cheap, as I'm new to all this. Yes, down the road I probably will start picking up some fancier sculpted beads, but for now I'll settle for simple aluminum/brass/wood beads to dress up some of my lanyard projects and such.

I picked up the $4 bag of wooden beads at Walmart. They were in the section with other pony beads, but I found the holes are only about 4mm in diameter... WAY too small! I know I can wrap micro cord or fishing line around the bend and thread it through the bead, pulling the cord with it, but if I'm doing a lanyard I want to do a diamond knot first, then put on the beads, so that trick won't work.

For the first time after a few days of trying I managed to get two strands through a hole, and only then after using the trick of gutting the half-inch or so at the ends. Even then, I have to yank pretty hard to move the bead along the strands. Is there some trick I'm missing?

What's more, when I search online looking for simple, plain, inexpensive beads with 5 or 6mm holes, I seem to not be able to find very much at all, and all the results I do see from Google list them as beads with "large" holes. Large??? I call that "normal." Is there something I haven't learned yet about working with 550 paracord and smaller-holed beads, or am I just not looking in the right places?

Much obliged for any and all help.

2. venatic

venatic New Member